top of page

Let them hear you...


Photo by Spencer Charles

Sometimes you have to speak your truth even when you feel really vulnerable and exposed. It's not always comfortable and sometimes it brings up some raw emotions but you may save someone's life.

One of my icons, Audre Lorde, wrote "My silences had not protected me. Your silence will not protect you. But for every real word spoken, for every attempt I had ever made to speak those truths for which I am still seeking, I had made contact with other women while we examined the words to fit a world in which we all believed, bridging our differences."

I live those words out ,daily, as I share my story of living with chronic pain and surviving life threatening illnesses. There is great power in the tongue. When it is used well, you can be the difference between life and death.

I am sharing a video of how I shared my story of surviving blood clots on my lungs (twice) in my early twenties. I celebrate everyone who has ever experienced this painful, scary, and life-threatening experience. Most importantly, I challenge everyone who reads this to share something about yourself with someone new. You may be able to raise awareness or celebrate something within them.

Let them hear you.

Video Credit: World Thrombosis Day 2017


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page